NGPF Extra Mile Award: Top 1% of Academy Hours Earned

Jun 22, 2021
Professional Development

We conclude our celebratory blog posts sharing the amazing accomplishments of educators during the 2020-2021 NGPF Academy year by highlighting the teachers who are in the top 1% of NGPF Academy hours earned. 

This impressive list of teachers has completed a combined total of over 10,000 hours of professional development during the 2020-2021 NGPF Academy Year! This includes one-hour live NGPF Virtual PD sessions, NGPF On-Demand modules, and NGPF Certification Courses

NGPF Academy recognizes and rewards educators who participate in NGPF professional development. Teachers track their hours on their My NGPF Academy portal on the NGPF website and earn NGPF swag and gift cards as their credit hours accumulate. Participate in your first NGPF virtual PD, complete an On-Demand module or crush an NGPF Certification Course and you are automatically signed up for the Academy. 


Congratulations to the following teachers for their active participation in NGPF professional development, placing them in the top 1% of NGPF Academy hours earned:

* denotes a "Triple Crown Teacher" who has NGPF Academy hours from all three professional development types - NGPF Virtual PDs, NGPF On-Demand, & NGPF Certification Courses


Alison Wolfe from Robinson Secondary School (VA)

Amanda Lucero from Sharyland High School (TX)*

Ambassador V. Mitchell from Missouri State University (MO)*

Andrea Fields from St Amant High School (LA)

Angela Johnson from Reservoir High School (MD)

Antonin Biot from The Hudson School (NJ)*

Areerat Lertchaipitak from Olivet College (MI)

Barb Ikins from Bishop McNamara Catholic High School (IL)

Bridgid Thomas from Abington Heights High School (PA)*

Carolyn Cooper from Paying Your Way Forward (CA)*

Cecilia Gray from Pottsville High School (AR)*

Christina Pollino from Lacey Township High School (NJ)*

Christopher Storm from West York Area High School (PA)

Collette Keeton from Moss Point High School (MS)

Cyndee Barkley from Lehigh Career & Technical Insitute (PA)

Daria Hall from Harding University High School (NC)

Deborah Sonnichsen from Foothill High School (NV)*

Donna Stubbe from Superior High School (WI)*

Elaine Colan from Vermont Adult Learning (VT)*

Ellise Wolff from Archie Cole Middle School (RI)*

Gina Collins from Port Allen High School (LA)*

Godfrey Aguwa Jr from Dollars & Cents University (MI)

Heidi Robison from King George High School (VA)*

Hyacinth Defoe from Windsor High School (CT)*

Ingrid Lu from Joaquin Miller Middle School (CA)*

Jarhondalynn Cameron from Piedmont G.L.O.B.A.L. Academy (TX)*

Jennifer Murphy from Briarcliff High School (NY)*

Jennifer Pratt from Houston Alternative School (MS)*

Jenny Trieu from Boston Community Leadership Academy (MA)*

Jere Minter from Seneca High School (KY)

Joan Kane from Trinty High School (IL)*

Joel Gruwell from Yuba City High School (CA)

Joey Running from West Albany High School (OR)*

Karin Mcdonough from Holbrook Middle-High School (MA)*

Kathi Reed from Hopkinsville High School (KY)

Kent Fisher from Highlands Community Charter School (CA)*

Kimberly Simington from Milton Hershey School (PA)*

Kristen Hermida from Wake Forest High School (NC)

Lawrence Parker from Western Branch High School (VA)*

Lisa Andresen from Madison West High School (WI)*

Lisa Imbriaco from Wilkes University/Abington Heights SD (PA)

Loretta Duppins from Northwestern High School (MD)

Lori Hughes from Waukesha East Alternative School (WI)*

Louise Trudeau from Bridge The Gap College Prep @ Tamalpais High School (CA)*

Maribeth Cornell from Windham Regional Career Center (VT)

Marilyn Cagan from Mohave District Annex Homebound Program (AZ)

Mary Miller from Usd 397 Centre K-12 School (KS)*

Merl Corpuz from El Cerrito High School (CA)*

Molly Tyson from Lorain High School (OH)

Pat Yoshiwara from Crossroads High School (CA)

Patricia Butcher from Passaic County Technical Institute (NJ)*

Renay Meissner from Spencer-Van Etten High School (NY)

Richard Reichart from Reading High School (PA)*

Rosalind Jackson from Charlotte-Mecklenburg Virtual High School (NC)

Sandy Keaton from Keaton Audiology (CA)*

Shawn Brigham from Naaman Forest High School (TX)*

Tamaine Prince from KIPP Atlanta Collegiate High School (GA)*

Tammi Campbell from Airport High School (SC)

Tanya Battista from International Institute Of Minnesota (MN)

Therese Nguyen from James Monroe Elementary (CA)*

Tiffany L Chambers from East St. John High School (LA)*

Tom Arnold from Everett Elementary School (CA)*

Treve Bonser from Davidson Academy (NV)*

Varun Gupta from Wharton County Jr College (TX)*

Widsar Estime from Lake Worth Comm. High School (FL)



In case you missed this earlier post, click here to review additional highlights of the 2020-2021 NGPF Academy Year! 


New NGPF Academy year has started!
Get started on your Academy hours by registering for a Virtual PD, Certification Course, or an On-Demand module today! To avoid missing announcements such as these in the future, signup to receive notifications that are included in our once-a-day emailed blog post.

About the Author

Amanda Volz

Amanda joins the NGPF Team with 18 years of experience teaching personal finance. During that time, she led her students to hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarships, won multiple awards, and most importantly, impacted the financial lives of thousands of high school students. Amanda prides herself on being an educational leader and is constantly looking for innovative ways to make the classroom relevant, rigorous, and fun. She is a passionate advocate for financial education and has been a long time member of the NGPF community. Fun fact - Amanda was NGPF’s first teacher account! When Amanda isn’t working, she enjoys cooking, gardening, and traveling with her husband and two children.